Durban’s Liberation Heritage Route forms part of the larger national project, the Resistance and Liberation Heritage Route (RLHR). The RLHR is administered by the National Heritage Council, an agency of the Department of Arts and Culture.

In 2012, the National Heritage Council launched the Golden Shield Heritage Awards as a means of acknowledging those individuals who actively protect and promote South Africa’s liberation heritage.

Now in its eighth year, this year’s awards seek to recognise excellence in ten categories, namely:

  1. National Living Treasure
  2. Local Government Commitment
  3. Preferred Heritage Destination
  4. Young Heritage Activist
  5. Academic Excellence
  6. Voice of Heritage
  7. Heritage Corporate Citizen
  8. Liberation Heritage Steward
  9. Heritage Education
  10. Heritage award recognising people with disabilities

Nomination forms are available on the National Heritage Council’s website. The closing date for nominations is the 16th August 2019, with the awards ceremony taking place on the 20th September in Polokwane, Limpopo.

For further information please visit

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply